fbpx

Rae Sremmurd

15.16.17
MAY

PASSES

BIO
Slim Jxmmi and Swae Lee were born in California, but moved to Tupelo at an early age, where they were raised in the notorious Ida Street housing projects, some of the worst, most crime-ridden in the state. Making matters worse, Sremmurd’s parents split while the brothers were still young, a devastating turn of events that found the brothers, over multiple stretches, seeking shelter in abandoned homes scattered throughout the area.

The movement started locally, with the brothers throwing parties and shows around town, often in the same abandoned buildings where they once stayed. The pair always had larger ambitions, though, and so the brothers, natural performers since elementary school, taught themselves how to record, make beats, and how to DJ.

Rae Sremmurd’s first single under the Ear Drummer Records, “No Flex Zone,” was a breakout for the duo, becoming a cultural touchstone throughout 2014 and entering Billboard’s Hot 100 and Top 40, peaking at number 36, while earning the brothers a performance on the 2014 BET Hip-Hop Awards, along with a remix from Nicki Minaj and Pusha T, and co-signs from the likes of Kim Kardashian, Justin Timberlake, Juicy J, and plenty more. The follow-up, “No Type,” has proved even bigger, peaking at number 16 on Billboard’s Top 40 charts and earning the duo their first late night appearance, with a performance (a medley of “No Flex Zone” and “No Type”) on The Tonight Show. To start 2015, Rae Sremmurd released their highly anticipated first album, SremmLife, with a top 5 debut on the Billboard Top 200.

The group has since released their second and third album, Sremmlife2 and Sremmlife3, the first containing the international hit “Black Beatles”. After a viral exposure, largely due to it’s role in the Mannequin Challenge trend, it became the first number one single of Rae Sremmurd and Gucci Mane on the American Billboard Hot 100.

PLAYLIST
Social

PASSES

fbpx

Rae Sremmurd

15.16.17

MAI

PASSES

BIO

Slim Jxmmi et Swae Lee sont nés en Californie, mais ont déménagé à Tupelo à un âge précoce, où ils ont grandi dans les fameux ensembles de logements de la rue Ida, parmi les pires et les plus criminels de l’État. Pour aggraver les choses, les parents de Sremmurd se sont séparés alors que les frères étaient encore jeunes, une tournure dévastatrice des événements qui a trouvé les frères cherchant un abri dans des maisons abandonnées disséminées dans toute la région.

Le mouvement a commencé localement, les frères organisant des partys et des spectacles autour de la ville, souvent dans les mêmes bâtiments abandonnés où ils étaient autrefois. Le groupe avait toutefois de plus grandes ambitions, et donc les frères, artistes naturels depuis l’école élémentaire, ont appris à enregistrer, à faire des beats et à mixer par eux-mêmes.

Quelques années plus tard, le premier single de Rae Sremmurd sous Ear Drummer Records, «No Flex Zone», a été une percée pour le duo, devenant une pierre de touche culturelle tout au long de 2014 et entrant dans Billboard’s Hot 100 et Top 40, culminant au numéro 36, tout en gagnant les frères. une performance sur les BET Hip-Hop Awards 2014, avec un remix de Nicki Minaj et Pusha T, et des co-signatures de Kim Kardashian, Justin Timberlake, Juicy J, et bien plus encore. La suite, «No Type», s’est révélée encore plus grande, culminant au numéro 16 du Top 40 du Billboard et gagnant au duo pour la première fois une performance au Tonight Show de Jimmy Fallon. Pour commencer 2015, Rae Sremmurd a sorti son premier album très attendu, SremmLife, avec un premier top 5 sur le Billboard Top 200.

Le groupe a depuis sorti son deuxième et troisième album, Sremmlife2 et Sremmlife3, le premier contenant le succès international « Black Beatles ». Après une visibilité virale, due en grande partie à son rôle dans la tendance du Mannequin Challenge, il est devenu le premier single numéro un de Rae Sremmurd et de Gucci Mane sur le Billboard Hot 100 américain.

PLAYLIST

RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX

PASSES