fbpx

Booba

15.16.17

MAY

PASSES

BIO

Booba, whose real name is Élie Yaffa, was born on 9 December 1976 in Boulogne-Billancourt in the Hauts-de-Seine region of France. He is a French rapper and member of 92i, a French rap collective of which he is also the founder, initially bringing together rappers from Hauts-de-Seine, Mala and Bram’s (the latter died on May 21st 2011); he is also a former member of the French rap group Lunatic, with his former sidekick Ali, in which he made his name in the mid-1990s. A very active businessman, in 2004 he launched his streetwear brand and his perfume called Ünkut, the D.U.C whisky brand, as well as a website, a TV channel and a web radio, all three around the OKLM brand.

Considered one of the greatest French rappers of his generation, he is the first French solo rapper to fill the Palais omnisports de Paris-Bercy and the second rap artist to fill Bercy after NTM5. He first made a name for himself with the group Lunatic, with his partner Ali from Issy-les-Moulineaux, where success came from both critics and the public. The album Mauvais œil went down in French rap history as a gold record. Indeed, it was the first independent album to win such an award.

Booba has sold over 2.5 million albums and produced nine of them. The first, entitled Temps mort, was released in 2002; in 2005 the mixtape, Autopsie Vol. 1, was released. A fifth album, entitled Lunatic, was released on November 22, 2010; the title is based on the name of Booba’s former band. The album is certified gold record in its first week and is now double platinum. On November 26, 2012, Booba released his sixth album entitled Futur, which went gold in a single week with over 51,000 copies sold, the best start to sales in the rapper’s entire career. It also broke the French record for digital albums sold on iTunes in all musical categories, with more than 17,000 copies sold in a single week, which was since dethroned by Daft Punk in 2013.

PLAYLIST

Social

PASSES

fbpx

Booba

15.16.17

MAI

PASSES

BIO

Booba, de son vrai nom Élie Yaffa, né le 9 décembre 1976 à Boulogne-Billancourt dans les Hauts-de-Seine, est un rappeur français. Il est membre du 92i, un collectif de rap français dont il est également le fondateur, regroupant initialement des rappeurs issus des Hauts-de-Seine, Mala et Bram’s (ce dernier est mort le 21 mai 2011) ; il est également un ex-membre du groupe de rap français Lunatic, avec son ancien acolyte Ali, au sein duquel il se fait connaître au milieu des années 1990. Homme d’affaires très actif, il lance en 2004 sa marque de vêtements streetwear ainsi que son parfum nommés Ünkut, la marque de whisky D.U.C ainsi qu’un site web, une chaîne de télévision et une webradio, tous trois autour de la marque OKLM.

Considéré comme l’un des plus grands rappeurs français de sa génération, il est le premier rappeur solo français à remplir le Palais omnisports de Paris-Bercy et le second artiste rap à remplir Bercy après NTM5. Il se fait d’abord connaître grâce au groupe Lunatic, avec son compère Ali originaire d’Issy-les-Moulineaux, où le succès vient à la fois de la critique et du public. L’album Mauvais œil entre dans l’histoire du rap français en obtenant un disque d’or. Il s’agit en effet du premier album en indépendant à obtenir une telle récompense.

Booba compte plus de 2,5 millions d’albums vendus et en a produit neuf. Le premier, intitulé Temps mort, est publié en 2002 ; en 2005 sort la mixtape, Autopsie Vol. 1. Un cinquième album, intitulé Lunatic, est publié le 22 novembre 2010 ; le titre reprend le nom de l’ancien groupe de Booba. L’album est certifié disque d’or dès la première semaine et est aujourd’hui double disque de platine. Le 26 novembre 2012, Booba publie son sixième album intitulé Futur, qui devient disque d’or en une seule semaine avec plus de 51 000 exemplaires vendus, ce qui est le meilleur démarrage de vente de toute la carrière du rappeur. Il bat également le record français d’albums numériques vendus sur iTunes, toutes catégories musicales confondues, avec plus de 17 000 exemplaires en une seule semaine, détrôné depuis 2013 par Daft Punk.

PLAYLIST

RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX

PASSES